Learn about what to do if you have been a victim of sexual harassment in the workplace, what steps to take to inform your employer about a disability, can you apply for unemployment benefits if you quit, and more in Law JBH’s December 2017 Newsletter.
Learn about whether your employer has to provide you with a break/lunch, how many days in a row your employer can make your work, what to do about a “mean boss,” and more in Law JBH’s November 2017 Newsletter.
Learn about the Equal Pay Act, types of bankruptcies, and more in Law JBH’s October 2017 Newsletter.
Fresh off the press, Law JBH first monthly newsletter! September 2017 Newsletter
Beginning September 1, 2017, Texas made it easier for individuals to purchase and renew their license to carry a firearm by lowering the costs associated with the license. Passed in May 2017, Senate Bill 16 reduces the price for applying for a license to carry from $140 to $40. It also cut the renewal costs… Read More »
Did you injury yourself at work? Did you file a workers’ compensation claim? Were you terminated thereafter? If you answered yes to all the above questions, you may have a claim for workers’ compensation retaliation. Texas law provides protection for Texas workers filing for workers’ compensation and those testifying in workers’ compensation proceedings from retaliation… Read More »
State and Federal laws protect individuals from retaliation. An employer may not fire, demote, harass or otherwise retaliate against an individual for submitting a complaint of discrimination, participating in a discrimination proceeding or otherwise opposing discrimination. Note that most of these laws apply to private employers with 15 or more employees, and to all state… Read More »